Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Near boiler piping

Options
Got a question about my near boiler piping... it just doesn’t seem right to me. I have no formal knowledge in one pipe steam heating but I have read books and quite a bit of stuff over the last couple of years owning this system. I’ve done allot of Maintinence to this system since I moved in and did allot of work to balance my system. It works perfectly for me but my big question is boiler cycle times... for instance once it fires up and finally hits full pressure which is 2psi how long should the system be able to hold that pressure before bleeding off and kicking back on? My system seems to bleed it’s pressure off quite quick. But the near boiler piping looks nothing like everything else I have seen in my 3 years of research and playing with my system.

Comments

• Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,327
    Options
    Well, the near boiler piping is perhaps a little unusual -- but that has nothing whatever to do with how long it's going to take the steam in the radiators to condense once the burner shuts off and the pressure drops to the cutin level (or lower, if there is a longish post purge and prepurge). In a more direct answer to your question, the system won't hold pressure at all -- the pressure will start to drop immediately when the boiler cuts out. Depending on the size of the system, if might take anywhere from 30 seconds to a minute or two for it to drop to the cutin.
    Br. Jamie, osb
    Building superintendent/caretaker, 7200 sq. ft. historic house museum with dependencies in New England
    tlavite
  • tlavite
    tlavite Member Posts: 3
    Options