Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Best way to heat hydronic closed loop system

Options
dousterhout
dousterhout Member Posts: 16
edited January 2019 in THE MAIN WALL
Newbie here. I am building a new house with concrete slab for walk out basement and concrete main level on metal pans, 2000 sq ft per level. I plan to put 1/2" pecs on both levels with 8 total zones. I have manifolds built and pressure tested and will soon be laying pecs.

I need help with what to use to heat to the closed loop water, as well as the water for the house? I will have a solar array for electric that will offset any electric usage and would like to NOT use propane, if that makes sense.

I am also struggling with tank or tankless?

I live in central VA.

Any suggestions are greatly appreciated.

Dean

Comments

• Alan (California Radiant) Forbes
    Options
    There are many condensing boilers to choose from; Viessmann, Lochinvar, IBC..........I would ask your local suppliers which one they recommend and support.

As far as domestic hot water (DHW), you have a fairly large house and I would use either an on-demand water heater or an indirect which uses your boiler as a heat source. On-demands are good if you have a large capacity bathtub that you can't possibly fill with a conventional tank-type water heater, but I prefer indirects for many reasons.

You must already know the heatloss of your house and spacing of the PEX since you've already installed your manifolds.
    8.33 lbs./gal. x 60 min./hr. x 20°ΔT = 10,000 BTU's/hour

Two btu per sq ft for degree difference for a slab
    GroundUp
  • Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,284
    Options
    If you don't want to use propane, what other fuels do you have available? Natural gas? Oil is always available, of course.