Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Brick chimney above roof is in bad shape. Should I rebuild or replace with class b vent?

Options
jlonj
jlonj Member Posts: 23
About to replace my roof with standing seam and realizing I should probably address my chimney. I had it inspected a few years back and one chimney guy said it needed repointing. The other said it needed to be rebuilt. I’m no expert, but the bricks look pretty bad ( I have the same bricks in the foundation and attic... they don’t look that bad).

Since the inspections, I switched to a gas boiler and the contractor installed an aluminum liner. I also power vented my water heater. So, the only thing venting through the chimney is the boiler. I have a gas fireplace that I’ve never used that I think is technically disconnected.

Would it make more sense to rebuild the chimney as-is with new bricks or to tear it down to the roof line
(Or maybe the attic) and put a b vent on it?

A couple other considerations: I may want to finish the attic eventually and that chimney takes up a ton of space. I also may want to install a fireplace insert, though it’s at the bottom of my priority list.

Comments

• Robert_25
    Robert_25 Member Posts: 527
    Options
    If the rest of the chimney is sound, I would just rebuild it from the attic up. Sounds like you have an older home, and a brick chimney will look very nice with that new standing seam roof.

luketheplumber
  • Zman
    Zman Member Posts: 7,569
    Options
    Picture?
    "If you can't explain it simply, you don't understand it well enough"
    Albert Einstein
  • jlonj
    edited December 2018
    Options
  • STEVEusaPA
    STEVEusaPA Member Posts: 6,505
    Options
    A proper inspection with a camera on the inside of the chimney will tell you if it's sound.
    Obviously the top needs more than re-pointing.