Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Making a Residential Boiler System Smarter

MichaelG
MichaelG Member Posts: 26
I'm a mechanical and controls engineer, but not an HVAC guy. I recently moved into a house built in 1777 which was gutted and added to in 1970, total current size is 2400SF. Over the years the 1970 HVAC components have been added onto with some additional disjointed systems, the result being a confusing and inefficient design. I have a fairly solid understanding of this entire system and it shortcomings, but am not necessarily familiar with what is available in the industry for improving the performance, efficiency, maintainability, and coordination of a system like this. My last house was Baltimore rowhouse with an ecobee3 controlling oil fired single pipe steam heat and a 16 seer 4 ton AC. It worked great, but this new house is a higher level of complexity for me. I would like some ideas for improvement.

Here is the existing setup...

Hydronic baseboard heat:
  • Oil fired Burnham boiler circa 2004, 120MBH
  • Four individual zones, each with their own circulation pump, 3/4" loops to slant fin baseboards
  • Boiler also heats the domestic hot water in a tankless setup w/ thermostatic mixing valve
  • The four circulation pumps are controlled by three Honeywell R845A relays and a L8124C1102 aquastat/relay.
  • Thermostats are all basic honeywell mercury, and I judge them all in need of replacement.
  • The age of the romex wiring to all the relays suggests this system dates to the early 70s. Some of the relays have a really old Honeywell logo on them.
Later updates to this home include:
2016: A 3 ton 15 seer heat pump to the upper floors of part of the house.
2016: A Mitsubishi minisplit system to the rooms not served by the aforementioned heat pump (3 rooms)