Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

02 rises to 10-11 with door open.

icy78
icy78 Member Posts: 404
Draft after dilution was -0.025. Door 50 feet away opened 4" and draft went to -0.06. O2 went from 8.6 to 10.8. Natural draft Raypak H3-0724. (I'm rather new at this and want to get good at it. Reccomend me a good manual. Something from Tim McElvain?) Anyhow numbers yesterday were 4000 ppm CO. Cleaned it up and have 4 COAF, 8.6 02, CO2 was 6.9%,flue gas is 362. EWT 156, LWT 178 at reading. So my question is: flue gas temp at 362 before dilution. and 268 after dilution, will I condensate in the brick chimney? (I thought I'd read I would need 325 minimum in the stack to keep from condensation.) Also: the draft increased with the door open and the 02 went up too high?

Comments

• Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 24,095
    Suggests to me that the space the unit is in doesn't have adequate ventilation.
    Br. Jamie, osb
    Building superintendent/caretaker, 7200 sq. ft. historic house museum with dependencies in New England
    Zman
  • icy78
    > @Jamie Hall said:
    > Suggests to me that the space the unit is in doesn't have adequate ventilation.

Yes I agree. What I don't know what to do with is the higher 02. Should I be concerned about that? Also the stack temp has me wondering.
  • Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 24,095
    Honestly, I have not idea! I do steam and hydronics and some solar -- and I have carefully avoided learning about burners and testing!
    Br. Jamie, osb
    Building superintendent/caretaker, 7200 sq. ft. historic house museum with dependencies in New England
    icy78Zman
  • ch4man
    ch4man Member Posts: 296
    your underfired, flue temp is too low, CO2 a bit low. O2 too high.
    need to get the draft under control first;