Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Hydronic Piping Design

Options
solpanc
solpanc Member Posts: 12
I am studying Modern Hydronics Heating book. Can someone please explain why circulater C5 is only needed for the floor heating assembly and NOT the baseboard zones. I attached an image from the book.

Comments

• Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,401
    Options
    Perhaps needless to say -- there are other ways of doing it. However, in that diagram, circulators one through 5 maintain flow in the various loops. Circulator 6 takes water from the main heating loops and injects it into the floor piping system at a rate controlled by the injection mixing controller. And circulator 7 keeps the water circulating in the floor loops -- at a very different temperature from the main heating loops.
    Br. Jamie, osb
    Building superintendent/caretaker, 7200 sq. ft. historic house museum with dependencies in New England
    hydro_newbie
  • Hilly
    Hilly Member Posts: 427
    Options
    C5 is what will bring the warm boiler water over to the closely spaced tees at the injection loop. Other wise water will not get from the boiler to the injection loop. If you did not have the C5 and only ran C6 there would be no difference in water temperatures preventing any modulation for the radiant floor distribution.
  • solpanc
    Options
    Hilly,
    Are you saying c1,c2,c3&c4 dont need c5 because they arent taken off from closely spaced t's? Thank you
  • Mark Eatherton
    Mark Eatherton Member Posts: 5,853
    edited January 2017
    Options