Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Cool 1950's Control

PMJ
PMJ Member Posts: 1,265
Got to looking at my Bryant manual more closely from the 1956 installation. If my boiler ever had this option it was removed at some point and replaced with the on/off only valves we all love. I'm still studying but elsewhere in the manual they call it a throttling device. It appears like it senses pressure and adjusts gas flow within some range. There is reference to installing different springs based on what pressure range you wish to be in.

Anyway, right about now I'm wishing it was still there.

Anyone ever see this before? Seems like residential steam units have actually lost ground with respect to control in the 60 years since this was produced. Anyway, since I am still running the very model pictured here it is clear that these folks knew what they were doing when they manufactured it.

1926 1000EDR Mouat 2 pipe vapor system,1957 Bryant Boiler 463,000 BTU input, Natural vacuum operation with single solenoid vent, Custom PLC control
ratioHVACNUTttekushan_3

Comments

• ratio
    ratio Member Posts: 3,615
    Amazing! I'll bet it took real skill to set that up right.
  • PMJ