Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

The physics behind condensate

Hey guys,
As an instructor, I am continually searching for new ways to teach or describe what happens inside the piping. Holohan always did a great job in many of his books. I am looking for some help in explaining in simple, yet physical terms how condensate can counterflow against steam under pressure. In other words, I would like to be able to easily answer the question: How does the condensate flow by gravity back to the steam main or boiler when the inside of the pipe is under pressure? Wouldn't the steam flow under pressure prevent that from happening? I realize there's a lot behind this as heat loss, temperature drop, velocity, etc., etc., can come into play; but I'm still struggling to try a simplify the physics in my head in order to be able to write and speak about this most important part of steam heating. I sometimes

Comments

• Ironman
    Ironman Member Posts: 7,363
    A simplified answer:
    Once the vents begin to close down because steam has reached them, the flow of steam is greatly reduced or will even periodically cease. In that case, the pressure in the pipe is exerting force equally in every direction and would not effect the direction that the condensate flows. All it then needs is a little bit of gravity to induce it to flow. The gauge glass on the boiler is an example of this: because it has equal pressure at the top and bottom, gravity causes the water to go to the bottom.