Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Gravity Hot Water Upgrade

Options
mfader
mfader Member Posts: 3
As a historical architect I work to understand and maintain existing gravity hot water systems with their 19th century radiators. But I am not a plumber or mechanical engineer! With all that I read on your website I have learned a lot of respect for the original heating systems which makes me uncertain when it comes to upgrading the system. I do not know how to choose the best contractor. By upgrading I am referring to introducing zones, installing Pex by removing some or all existing pipes, how to properly size circulators, and converting oil to propane. How can I choose the appropriate contractor and know that the proposed improvements are correct?

Comments

• icesailor
    icesailor Member Posts: 7,265
    Options
    If you are who I think you are, where you live, it won't be easy. Most anyone will want to rip out all your radiators and convert the whole antique house to scorched air.

With duct board and flex duct run everywhere.
  • Paul48
    Paul48 Member Posts: 4,469
    Options
    That's rather confusing, because in one sentence you talk about preserving. In the next, you talk about completely changing. The required skill set for a contractor would be very different, depending on the job.
  • mfader
    Options
    Maintaining the existing system is considered a level of preservation tho I understand there is a combination of old and new. Nothing is being completely changed.

I'll try my question in another way: is there an upgrade to such a system that could be a major mistake?
  • Paul48
    Options