Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

2 Children Killed In Radiator Mishap In Bronx Apartment

Options
Sad. What could have caused this? Faulty pressuretrol? Clogged pigtail? I'm no expert, but don't buildings like these usually have multiple pressure regulators?

http://abc7ny.com/news/2-kids-killed-in-radiator-mishap-in-bronx-apartment/1644053/

Comments

• KC_Jones
    KC_Jones Member Posts: 5,739
    Options

What could have caused this?

My money is on lack of maintenance.
    2014 Weil Mclain EG-40
    EcoSteam ES-20 Advanced Boiler Control
    Boiler pictures updated 2/21/15
    delta T
  • DanHolohan
    DanHolohan Member, Moderator, Administrator Posts: 16,530
    Options
    Steam will displace the air in the room. They probably suffocated.

This is not the first time this has happened in NYC. Some people loosen or remove the vents to try to get more heat. Other times, the vents are damaged and not maintained. It's tragic.
    Retired and loving it.
    Charlie from wmass
  • Fred
    Fred Member Posts: 8,542
    Options
    Really sad! I can't imagine how a valve would "Pop Off" I'm betting it was probably a radiator vent. If it was truly a valve, it had to be loose and in bad disrepair. Children have to be watched so closely. There is no way they should be that close to a steaming hot radiator. Hind sight is always 20/20.
  • DanHolohan
    Options
    Every case I've seen, it was always the vent, and always kids in a room with the door closed.
    Retired and loving it.
    kcopp
  • KC_Jones
    Options
    @Fred they don't need to be close to it to die. If the pressure was too high and the vent came off there could have been a massive release of steam. As Dan said it displaces the oxygen and suffocates people.