Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

When did the manuals get so long?

Options
RayWohlfarth
RayWohlfarth Member Posts: 1,507
I am seeing a disturbing trend in the industry where the IOM manuals seem to be growing exponentially. It used to be you would get a short booklet and that was your guide to installing the equipment. Now they are at least 100 pages long. As a writer, I appreciate it but as a service tech, I hate it. You have to go through the entire manual to get the answer to the question you have and dont you dare skip past because they hide little traps in the book. I was helping a friend on his wall mounted boiler that was rated for a 199,000 Btuh. The manual was over 150 pages long This is longer than the manual for 5 million BTUH high pressure steam boiler. And good luck if you are connecting the new boiler to the buildings control system. That's another 200 page book. Do we really need 150 pages to explain a wall mounted residential boiler? Thanks for allowing me to vent.
Ray Wohlfarth
Boiler Lessons

Comments

• dko
    dko Member Posts: 607
    Options

It helps having it in digital format and then searching for keywords.
    SylvainEdTheHeaterMan
  • ScottSecor
    ScottSecor Member Posts: 859
    Options
    I think there are a few reasons. I suspect the installation manuals for condensing boilers have so many pages due to the venting requirements and the piping requirements. Recently I noticed almost twenty pages dedicated to venting and fresh air. Perhaps the manufacturer hopes we will read there manuals if they keep adding extra pages?