Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Finally took the low pressure leap.

Ok, I am an amateur.  However, I’ve read one of Dan Holohan’s books, and am on the board of my 98 unit building.  So I’ve interfered in the delivery of our single pipe, 5M BTU boiler, steam heat.  Today we called the tech out, and reduced the pressure from a 4psi target (started modulation at 4psi) and 6psi cutoff to a new, lower pressure of 2psi modulation start with 3psi cutoff.  I’m seeing a small reduction in the amount of heat delivered per cycle.  Am I going to be sad when I see the bill, since I seemingly now may need to run the cycles a bit longer?  The DH book seems to say no, but I’m just a bit nervous since I stuck my nose in an area that isn’t my expertise.  What do you think?

Comments

• Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,168
    Courage. And hang in there.
    Br. Jamie, osb
    Building superintendent/caretaker, 7200 sq. ft. historic house museum with dependencies in New England
  • kcopp
    kcopp Member Posts: 4,418
    If the Empire State building can run off 2psi your house also can.... also from Dan.
    CLamb
  • ethicalpaul
    ethicalpaul Member Posts: 5,695
    In for a penny, in for a pound, might as well set the cutout for 2psi and see how that goes.

You won't spend more money. Before you were burning tons of fuel to get the pressure up for no benefit.

When you say "small reduction in amount of heat delivered" what do you mean by that?
    NJ Steam Homeowner. See my sight glass boiler videos: https://bit.ly/3sZW1el
    mattmia2
  • Mad Dog_2
    Mad Dog_2 Member Posts: 6,831