Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Save the Steam! Our Old Home Renovation Project!

I apologize ahead of time for being long winded. My wife was left her family home that’s almost in disrepair. Built sometime in the early 19th century and later retrofitted with a coal fired two pipe steam system in the early 20th century, later converted to an oil fire boiler. We’re in the planning phase of a full gut renovation. We’ve decided on keeping the steam heat as a way to retain the personality of the house and I plan to tackle this project myself along with installing a fire sprinkler system. By trade I’m a sprinkler fitter (local 669) and while I’m a capable pipe fitter I really don’t know much about steam heat. All that said, I’m writing to get some direction on how to attack this project.