Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Dettson hydra Electric boiler keeps shutting off

Radop
Radop Member Posts: 2
Good day all. Newbie here and hoping someone can help me out.
I have a Dettson electric boiler providing Hot water to my in floor heating system.
The problem Is that the boiler keeps shutting itself off. When the thermostat asks for heat the boiler won’t come on. Here’s what I have checked so far
- confirmed 240 to the unit.
- confirmed 120 at the transformer and 24V from the transformer to the board.
Only thing I can think of is a bad board.
If I remove the fuse on the boiler and put back in the boiler comes on. It does recycle a few times and sometimes stays on for a few hours but then shuts down.

Any ideas. Thanks in advance.

Terry
jasonpitre

Comments

• pecmsg
    pecmsg Member Posts: 4,775
    Sounds like it’s shutting down on a safety.
    Any trouble codes?
  • Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,161
    As Paul, says, sounds like a safety, and by removing and replacing the fuse you are resetting it. The first thing I'd do is check what safeties are present -- I'm not familiar with the unit, but there is almost certainly a high temperature limit on it, and there may be others. Then work to figuring out what is actually shutting the unit down.

Do you have any way to measure the output and return temperatures? Flow rates?
    Br. Jamie, osb
    Building superintendent/caretaker, 7200 sq. ft. historic house museum with dependencies in New England
    GGross
  • Radop
    Radop Member Posts: 2
    Thanks for the feed back.
    I am unable to see any safety codes as there is no display window.
    As for water temp it doesn’t go above 100C and the max indicated for it is around 170c
    I agree removing the fuse is just resetting it.
    I think I added a pic of the board not sure.