Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Hydronic Radiant Floor Help (Codeword I'm Clueless)

I'll be the first to admit - I'm a complete newbie to hydronic radiant floors. I got relocated to Minnesota this year and am starting to see astronomical energy consumption. Temps have recently dropped into the 20's and are now heading towards 0F later this week.

I do not have a slab sensor, and have installed a Honeywell thermostat measuring ambient temp. No schedule, no weird smart thermostat stuff. I have it set to 69F... Our heat pumps are still running in the house but will continue to lose efficiency as we approach 0F

What I'm seeing is the thermostat will make a heat call, turn on and then run for 8-10 hours and then it will shut off and the floor will cool back off and the next day we do this all over again. I'm consuming 8-10 kWH per hour during the hours that this is running so each time it cycles like this we go through 60-80 kWH

I'm new to all this but it seems like we heat the water, the house is nice and then we let the slab cool off because the house doesn't need it and the thermostat isn't making a heat call. Seems like a viscous cycle to me.

Sorry for all the rookie questions, but I'm trying to learn and understand how I should manage the situation.

Comments

• Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,170
    I presume that something -- electric resistance? -- is heating the water going to the slab? Ideally, a slab should have "just right" water running through it all the time and be maintaining an even temperature. This is usually done by having a mixing valve in the slab circuit, so that some return water is mixed with the water from the boiler or whatever, to obtain the desired temperature. That valve should be controlled either by a floor sensor or perhaps better through and outdoor reset.