Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Water Spewing from Steam Radiator Hydrostatic Valves

alex124
alex124 Member Posts: 3
I have a one pipe steam radiator system in a new house, in which I have never used the heating system before. The boiler was replaced about 4 years ago and all of the radiators were removed, cleaned, and reinstalled with new hydrostatic valves just 2 months ago. (Also new inlet valves were installed for each radiator.)  Since servicing the radiators, I have found water to be spraying out of the air vents at one end of the house.

To give a little more description to the system, the boiler is located at the back of the house in the basement. There is one radiator directly above it on the second floor. There are two radiators at the front of the house, one on the first floor and one on the second floor. The radiator at the back of the house is about half the size of the other two. There is new Maid-o-mist #6 hydrostatic valve on every radiator and also one older valve on the water return pipe, just after the last riser, which goes up the to the radiators at the front of the house. The radiator piping is at least 30 years old, and probably even older.

Since the first time using the system I have found water spraying out of the hydrostatic valve in the basement and on the radiators on the first and second floor at the front of the house. No water comes out of the radiator on the second floor at the back of the house. Proportionately more water comes out of the basement valve then out of the first floor radiator then out of the second floor radiator.