Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Thermostat losing power - LWC?

Options
Hi there, hoping to find a solution that I can handle myself - I'm an amateur, but willing to learn and hoping to get to the bottom of this.

Background: I installed an ecobee4 thermostat to run my boiler (Peerless series 63/64). It does its thing, but since the beginning has intermittently rebooted itself. I assumed it was a bad connection and ancient wiring, so finally after dealing with this for 2+ years I ran new thermostat wire. It did not solve the issue.

Now that I've ruled out wiring, I noticed it appears to be losing power when the level check light is lit on the low water cutoff unit (I also know it turns off and stays off when the cutoff is engaged when the level has dropped in the past).

My question: is there a way I can connect the thermostat so that it receives continuous power without being affected by the LWC unit? Here's a photo of the transformer. I'm wired to C and R on the top row, and Y on the left side of the bottom row.

Any help or suggestions are much appreciated! I feel like there has to be a simpler solution here than calling a tech for a house call when I'm perfectly capable of rerouting some wire :wink:

Comments

• EdTheHeaterMan
    EdTheHeaterMan Member Posts: 7,833
    Options
    YES
    Edward F Young. Retired HVAC ContractorSpecialized in Residential Oil Burner and Hydronics
  • EdTheHeaterMan
    Options
    That @EdTheHeaterMan is being a smart azz again.

Will need more info than a picture of a transformer with 10 or so wires attached.

Can you step back a few feet and let us see where the wires actually go to?
    Edward F Young. Retired HVAC ContractorSpecialized in Residential Oil Burner and Hydronics
    GGross
  • Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,280
    Options