Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

I can’t solder lead-free brass fittings

newtonkid88
newtonkid88 Member Posts: 102
edited August 2022 in Plumbing
I’ve been soldering off and on for over 10 years from copper pipes that hold 150 psi compressed air to electronic circuit boards.
So I’m not a complete idiot. But I’m stumped.

Now, I’m trying to do my baseboard radiators. I’m trying to connect 3/4” baseboard copper pipe to 1/2” Uponor pex. I need a straight fitting.

https://www.supplyhouse.com/Uponor-Wirsbo-LF4515075-1-2-ProPEX-x-3-4-Female-Sweat-Copper-Pipe-Adapter-Lead-Free-Brass

The only fitting I see available is 1/2” Propex x 3/4” Female Sweat. Available from Uponor or Sioux Chief. Only in lead-free brass.

I’ve tried No 95 tinning flux. I’ve tried regular water soluble flux that I normally use. The solder just beads on the brass fitting like water on a freshly waxed car. 

I’ve watched youtube videos on soldering lead-free brass but it just doesnt work for me.

Comments

• Alan (California Radiant) Forbes
    Alan (California Radiant) Forbes Member Posts: 3,979
    edited August 2022
    I won't ask whether you're cleaning the fitting and pipe until they shine and all oxidation has been removed because you know that already. It's either the flux or the solder unless you're overheating the metal. That thin copper that's used for BB gets hot really fast. What kind of torch are you using?
    8.33 lbs./gal. x 60 min./hr. x 20°ΔT = 10,000 BTU's/hour

Two btu per sq ft for degree difference for a slab
  • newtonkid88
    edited August 2022