Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

cast iron vs stainless for replacement boiler

newvermonter
newvermonter Member Posts: 4
My heat is hot water through baseboards. I am converting from an oil-fired boiler to propane. One installer has proposed a Weil-McClain cast iron boiler, and the other has proposed a Burnham Alpine stainless steel (model ALP105). From what I gather, the cast iron is a bit more expensive but has a longer life expectancy and requires less maintenance. But someone from the propane company mentioned to me that I might have an issue with rust during the months that the heat is not on. (Hot water is coming from a separate source -- this would just be for heat.) I am new to all of this and would love thoughts on the pros and cons of each.

Comments

• Hot_water_fan
    Hot_water_fan Member Posts: 1,823
    Almost every cast iron boiler in America spends months off every summer. Not sure why rust is a concern from that company.
  • GroundUp
    GroundUp Member Posts: 1,889
    If the water is properly treated, rust will never be a concern regardless of operational status. Is the person who told you this the same person proposing the Alpine, by any chance? Don't get me wrong, I love a mod-con boiler but if the system is all high temp emitters I really don't think they're a cost effective option. You may save 10% on fuel, but will spend all of that and then some on maintenance/replacement over the lifespan of the system. Very seldom does a mod-con save anything in the long run over a CI boiler in my experience. Proper piping to allow ODR on the emitters while keeping the CI boiler above 140* is pretty tough to beat, in my opinion.
    EBEBRATT-Ed
  • newvermonter