Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Evaporator dripping onto heater

I am new to HeatingHelp. I am trying to figure out what is going on with my Thermopride forced air oil heater and York AC and hopefully correct it.

I noticed water coming out of the bottom onto the floor. The condensate line and pump are working fine and not clogged up. I took the side off the evaporator. For some reason condensation is dripping directly onto the heater instead of rolling down the fins into the channels/gutters that direct it to a side gutter that pours into the pump.

The photo of the bottom of the evaporator is looking directly up. I cleaned out all of those gutters beneath the fins. Actually, they were already very clean. I don't know why the condensation is not running down the fins directly into the gutters. You can see rust on the top of the oil burner. So, it looks like this drip has happened in the past but I didn't notice it. This system was installed in 1995. We haven't had any problems with it but I assume this drip will eventually ruin the heater.

I live outside Philadelphia. It has been hot lately, but we have had heat waves and humidity before.

I appreciate any comments.

Thanks,

Comments

• mattmia2
    mattmia2 Member Posts: 9,574
    Maybe it is sticking to that rust on the side plates and dripping from there instead of running down them?
    r22gh9
  • HVACNUT
    HVACNUT Member Posts: 5,804
    Are the channels clear all the way through? You can't really tell if there's gunk built up where the fins meet the channels. This is the first flat evaporator coil I've seen mounted horizontally. 
    In any case, have your oil service company check the heat exchanger. 
    r22gh9
  • Big Ed_4
    Big Ed_4 Member Posts: 2,762