Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Need help with repairs to Apollo heating/cooling system

Options
Hi All,

I'm a retired home inspector in Washington State who, years ago, used to occasionally come to this board for answers when I ran into tricky issues. This time I'm coming here because I'm looking for a contractor who can help my elder sister out. She's 75, a widow, and she lives in the Virginia Beach/Norfolk area. She needs her heating/cooling system looked at by a competent tech who can carefully explain what the issues with the system are, in a way that she can understand, and won't try to sell her a bill of goods.

Here's the issue. Her home is heated/cooled with an Apollo system. It's a forced-warm-air system that apparently uses a single water heater to supply hot water for all heat, but uses two separate AC systems to cool the home. She says there are two separate thermostats and two separate compressor/condenser units outside of the home. One stat operates the compressor unit that cools two upstairs bedrooms while the other operates a separate compressor/condenser unit that cools the rest of the home. She's lost all cooling to the two upstairs bedrooms but the system is still cooling the rest of the home.

She called her home warranty company and they sent a tech out. The tech that came out said that the compressor was shot on that bedroom circuit and that they could no longer just replace the compressor because it's a 1987 system that uses the old type of refrigerant. He said there is no way to completely evacuate all of the old refrigerant, flush the system, and then recharge it with currently-legal refrigerant, so everything from the compressor to the A coil had to go. Then he informed her that he doesn't work on Apollo systems and left.