Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

End of Season Report - How's my boiler doing?

2»

Comments

• MaxMercy
    MaxMercy Member Posts: 507
    pedmec said:

sorry, you cast iron guys just cant let it go. you just want an easier installation lol.

I install mod/cons all the time and the mod/cons that i have installed haven't failed at 10-12 years. easily get twenty plus years out of it. a properly installed and maintained mod/con will give you comfort and savings for plenty of years. if your getting only 10-12 years then it is not installed properly.

Not being a pro, I can't disagree with you, but I can cite my observations and other anecdotal evidence which seems to support the short life of mod/cons.

My wife's co-worker had a problem with a Buderus in the middle of winter, and he had three different companies come out and check it. None of them could positively identify the problem and only one was willing to order parts to try since there were no parts for that boiler locally. My wife of course told him that I could fix it (God bless her faith in me) because I had installed a new boiler in our home a couple of years earlier. Since I knew less than nothing about mod/cons, I called a couple of people I know and no one was sure what was wrong, so I asked here:

https://forum.heatinghelp.com/discussion/182503/buderus-gb142-no-heat-update-error-codes#latest

My wife's co-worker and his wife were tired of being cold and paying people to tell him that the boiler at 11 years was old and should be replaced, as the repair on his old one would expensive and it might only buy him a year or so.