Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Flue liner necessary?

pweedith
pweedith Member Posts: 7
So I'm a realtor and currently under contract with a client to purchase a 3 family home. We asked for a flue liner to be installed but when the seller's chimney guy came to quote the job he told them that it wasn't necessary. Is this true? We're trying to figure out if we should make him go through with installing it as agreed or if it's something he can skip out on. The seller has gone above and beyond and done things that weren't asked of him so I want to be fair. 

A little more info: currently a clay lining. It is only used for venting 3 gas boilers and 3 gas water heaters.

Thanks for any help. 

Comments

• STEVEusaPA
    STEVEusaPA Member Posts: 6,506
    If a licensed chimney sweep did at least a level II inspection of the chimney, and if the chimney is sized to properly handle all 6 appliances, then it probably doesn't need a liner, if the chimney company is competent and honest.
    But I'd get a second opinion...
    steve
    SlamDunkpecmsgBob Harper
  • pecmsg
    pecmsg Member Posts: 4,775
    If a licensed chimney sweep did at least a level II inspection of the chimney, and if the chimney is sized to properly handle all 6 appliances, then it probably doesn't need a liner, if the chimney company is competent and honest. But I'd get a second opinion...
    I agree. Not enough information to give an answer. Get a second opinion and post the #’s of the equipment. 
  • EBEBRATT-Ed
    EBEBRATT-Ed Member Posts: 15,453
    @pweedith

There is no direct answer. Not all chimneys require a liner if they are in good shape. Depends on appliance BTU input, inside or outside chimney? height of chimney and the lowest winter temperature etc
  • Bob Harper
    Bob Harper Member Posts: 1,034