Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Extreme water hammer

iPipefitter
iPipefitter Member Posts: 15
I work as a pipefitter, still rather new to my trade. Trying to learn all I can to become the best I can be. I been having issues with extreme water hammer. I noticed the some of the pipes aren't insulated as there was a leak that required me to tear of the insulation in order to fix the leak. The traps seem to be good, tested them with a ultrasound device, everything is pitched correctly, there does seem to be too long of a nipple in the in the Hartford loop. I fixed the nipple issue to meet common standards, however, it's still pretty bad. Could the lack of insulation really contribute that much to the cause of the water hammer? I know it loses quite a bit of heat due to lack of insulation, or do you all think that there could be another underlying issue? My thought is that the lack of insulation is causing more condensate than they can handle but was wondering others opinions too.

Thank you.

Comments

• mattmia2
    mattmia2 Member Posts: 9,632
    edited May 2021
    pictures of the boiler and near boiler piping and anything else unusual would help. Is the water level in the site glass stable when it is steaming or does it bounce up and down a lot? Is the level in the system cold and while steaming drastically different? is it all 2 pipe? what is the pressure set at and what is the actual pressure?
    iPipefitterethicalpaul
  • iPipefitter