Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Amateur here: Should I be worried about no water in sight glass

Jacob_P
Jacob_P Member Posts: 10
I'm not a heating professional. Just someone who happened to buy a house with an ancient steam heating system.

Recently the system was serviced and a lot was done to it.

I'm not sure of the technical terms, but I occasionally empty some water from the system via a valve near the boiler. I've been told to do this till the water runs clear.

Today I went to do this, and very little water came out.

On top of that, I noticed that the sight glass was empty.

From my amateur perspective, it seems to me that the system is running low on water.

In the past, my understanding is that there was an automated system that would add water to the system when it ran low.

My questions are

1) Is this something I should be concerned about? Do I need to call the technician back?
2) If the answer to the above is yesr, is it possible or likely that the issue was caused by the recent servicing?

Any insight to this would be super appreciated.

Comments

• mattmia2
    mattmia2 Member Posts: 9,574
    Yes, you should be concerned. You shouldn't run the boiler until you refill it, especially if nothing is coming out of the low water cutout's blowdown valve. some pictures could let us tell you how to do that.

You may or may not have an auto feeder. of you were doing frequent blowdowns and the level didn't drop in the past you probably do. whoever serviced it may have left the valve to the feeder closed.
  • EBEBRATT-Ed
    EBEBRATT-Ed Member Posts: 15,453
    edited May 2021
    Pictures will help us see what you have. You should shut the boiler off if you can't see the water level it's not safe to run
  • Jacob_P
    Thank you for the feedback. Working on getting a technician out now.