Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Steam Pipe pitching

Options
Hi, I'm a steam heat novice looking for some advice. I recently had a section of my main supply line replaced due to a pinhole in the cast iron piping. Seemed there was a lot of water built up in the section of piping and the pitch is not correct. From the header on my boiler there is a pipe that leads to the main supply pipe. My question is what direction should the pitch be on the main supply pipe, should it be "uphill" from the boiler in the direction of the flow of steam so any condensate can flow (downhill) into the equalizer? I've had conflicting plumbers say one way or the other. My header is 2ft from the top of the boiier, then there is a pipe that goes vertical and connects to the main supply line. Is it OK to drop that vertical pipe say an inch to correct the pitch in my main supply line? One plumber tells me no that has to be kept a certain height from the header while another says it should be OK to drop a few inches (circled in red below) to allow the pitch in the main supply line be downhill toward the boiler allowing condensate to feedback into the boiler.
Sorry for the novice question. Any feedback would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance!

Comments

• KC_Jones
    KC_Jones Member Posts: 5,737
    Options
    It appears you have a parallel flow system. the first elbow that you circled should be the highest point in all the main piping and is should be sloping down from there at an amount not less than 1" per 20' of pipe run. More slope is fine, less not so much.