Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Circulating Pump

Hello all. I have an electrician by trade so please forgive my ignorance.

I need to change the circulating pump that is feeding a hot water baseboard look for an addition that I have. However it seems there are no isolation shut off‘s for this pump. I’m assume that means I need to drain the system. I’m not 100% sure on how to do that based upon the type of system I have. Do I need to drain the entire boiler? Or is there any way based upon the picture here that I can just drain the loop for my hot water baseboard zone?
Any and all advice is welcome.

Thank you

Comments

• GroundUp
    GroundUp Member Posts: 1,889
    Close any valves you can find to isolate that part of the system from the rest, open the boiler drain below the faulty pump to drain the riser. what comes out is what comes out. After refilling though, you're likely to have to purge the system of air
  • Zman
    Zman Member Posts: 7,561
    From what can be seen in this picture, it looks like a full draindown. You are going to want to have a refill/purge plan before you tackle this, especially in the winter.
    Can you post a picture from farther back?
    "If you can't explain it simply, you don't understand it well enough"
    Albert Einstein
  • PaulLandon2323
    PaulLandon2323 Member Posts: 8
    I’ll take a picture and post. Thanks for the responses. 

I’m thinking I shouldn’t do this in the winter... as a novice. I can wait until the spring. 

What kind of plan should I be thinking about?
  • EdTheHeaterMan
    EdTheHeaterMan Member Posts: 7,713
    Is that a steam boiler with a water loop added for another zone?

The larger pipe with an od return configuration and no other circulatory on the return looks like a Hartford Loop made of copper.