Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Eastman 20371?

neals
neals Member Posts: 55
Total newbie here, but trying to get up to speed via the excellent "We Got Steam Heat" book. My mother-in-law's living room radiator air vent just failed, and all the hardware store had left in stock was this cheap "Eastman part #20371" -- which admittedly looks just like the one that died.

Does anyone recognize this and know how it compares to other vents?  It's not listed in the Gill & Pajek balancing guide.

Comments

• neilc
    neilc Member Posts: 2,689
    that should get you by,
    but,
    what was the failure?
    known to beat dead horses
  • Lard
    Lard Member Posts: 115
    The venting capacity is the same as the “Watts SV” in the chart—it is exactly the same chinesium. 

The failure is likely because these vents are very failure-prone by nature.  I have seen them split down the side in less than a season of use!
    neals
  • neals
    Thanks for the quick reply!  This info is great.

So if I'm reading the chart right there's less airflow in this thing than a Gorton or Maid O Mist 5?  So much for supporting my local businesses, and this explains why it takes so long to heat up. 

The failure mode was spewing steam into the room. (Fortunately I had turned down the pressuretrol from the "knucklehead" 10 PSI it was at down to 4 the night before.). I suppose it's possible it cracked, I wrecked the body pretty badly getting it off so any forensic evidence was lost. 
  • neilc
    edited November 2020
    neals said:

The failure mode was spewing steam into the room. (Fortunately I had turned down the pressuretrol from the "knucklehead" 10 PSI it was at down to 4 the night before.). I suppose it's possible it cracked, I wrecked the body pretty badly getting it off so any forensic evidence was lost.