Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

In 11 header/pressure

Hello y’all,
 So just bought an 137 year old house that has a 5 year old Burnham in11 natural gas, steam boiler. When we move in the pressure was set to 5 psi with a 1.5 diff. My understanding is that it should be around 1-2 psi with a .5 diff, please explain what the settings should be. We get heat through out the house in all rads and no banging. I have steam cleaned the system and replace all vents. I’m not an expert hit why I’m posting, but the header on this thing doesn’t look right, let me know what you think. And no I did not do the insulation, needs replacing. 

Comments

• EBEBRATT-Ed
    EBEBRATT-Ed Member Posts: 15,452
    Your right about the header. It was installed by an idiot.......I am trying to restrain myself.

Sorry, but your boiler needs a serious repipe. I am suprised it heats at all
    SteamCrazykcoppethicalpaulSTEAM DOCTOR
  • SteamCrazy
    SteamCrazy Member Posts: 100
    Wow it's amazing what we see in some of these post. There goes the saying doing something stupid and get you rewarded in a small way.  Bad piping, cranking up the pressure, and reward (somehow) no noise or issues. Don't feel bad not not alone... I myself had bought a home with bad piping with similar results. But my fuel bill was outrageous..  
  • Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,160
    It is sometimes truly amazing just how forgiving steam heat can be...

Try a pressure setting of 2 psi for a cutout and around 1 psi cutin. It would actually be better lower, but without knowing exactly what kind of pressuretrol you have that's as good a place to start as any.
    Br. Jamie, osb
    Building superintendent/caretaker, 7200 sq. ft. historic house museum with dependencies in New England
  • STEAM DOCTOR
    STEAM DOCTOR Member Posts: 1,951