Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Going from the field to the office

RayWohlfarth
RayWohlfarth Member Posts: 1,459
Greetings All,
My new book is going to be on transitioning from the field as an installer or service tech and into the office. I know it was a huge change for me. I would love your thoughts on what you encountered when you left the tools behind for a desk. My biggest challenge was going to the same place every day. I was a service tech and used to going to a different location every day. That cubicle seemed like a jail cell for me in the beginning. I appreciate your thoughts
Ray
Ray Wohlfarth
Boiler Lessons

Comments

• Squirrel21
    Squirrel21 Member Posts: 1
    I work at a small company with 13 employees total so everyone works closely together. I have gone from being a tech to a tech/salesman with some service manager duties. The biggest change I found was the perspective of the other techs that I was on the other side of the fence now. They no longer saw me as a equal. The old saying: When I do right nobody remembers but when I do wrong nobody forgets strongly comes into play. As in the beginning it takes time to earn trust from your co-workers that you can do your job form a technical stand point. I had to earn their trust again. This was not something I did not foresee or expected
  • Tinman
    Tinman Member Posts: 2,808
    Ray, I’m almost two years into my transition from the trenches to a desk. Like anything, there are pros and cons to it. My body loves the fact that I’m no longer abusing it. The physical problems are still there but they’re manageable now without having to eat Advil all day long. I still find all kinds of ways to work with tools much like Hot Rod does. I may not be the mad scientist that he is but I have goals so I’ll get there.