Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Zoned hydronic heating problem

helpme465
helpme465 Member Posts: 11
I’m new to hydronics and boiler systems, so please forgive me if I leave info out or name something incorrectly!

We moved into a home a few years ago with an oil-fueled two-zoned boiler hydronic heating system with baseboard radiators. It has worked flawlessly up until now and I have been able to independently heat each zone (floor 1 and floor 2) with no problems.

The problem started very recently. I can heat floor 1 without heating floor 2, but anytime I try to heat floor 2, floor 1 gets heat as well.

When I tell the thermostats to heat floor 1 and NOT floor 2, ONLY the floor 1 circulator pump kicks on and ONLY the floor 1 main trunk pipe gets hot.

When I tell the thermostats to heat floor 2 and NOT floor 1, only the floor 2 circulator pump kicks on but BOTH floor 1 and floor 2 main trunk pipes get hot.

For clarity, the boiler has a common “out” pipe that branches into a floor 1 trunk (with its own circulator pump) and a floor 2 trunk (with its own circulator pump). There is a common “return” pipe into the boiler.

There are only 3 wiring conduits coming off the thermostat relay, which go to (1) the floor 1 circulator pump, (2) the floor 2 circulator pump, and (3) the furnace/ignition.

The best I can figure is that the floor 1 circulator pump is allowing hot water to bleed through even when it’s not activated. It doesn’t appear to be turning on inappropriately, just allowing hot water to pass through when it shouldn’t.