Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

New Boiler Design / Any help appreciated

kbisnett
kbisnett Member Posts: 12
Hello HeatingHelp Community!

Newbie here so go easy! :-) Always been a big DIY individual and installed my last HVAC (Rheem 96% two-stage furnace and 16 SEER 2.5 ton A/C unit) which was a blast to do and learned a lot. We recently purchased a new home and it's in need a boiler system... badly...!

The current unit is well over 20 years old, but it is a Weil McClain 81% efficiency. Can't tell the size or anything of that sort due to the info being rubbed off from age - I do have a serial number. It consumes propane like crazy (almost 1500 gallons so far in Upstate NY) and it never starts correctly. I've cleaned all the sensors and tubes, additionally calling in professional help and it will only fire half the burners at times or just not fire at all and sit there running for 10+ minutes.

So with all the being said, I'm looking to move to a condensing boiler. I've looked at US Boiler K2s, Lochinvar WHB series, and Naviens. I'm not set on what type of boiler yet. We have 2 zones + an indirect zone. Right now they are all valved, I plan to switch over to circ pumps for each zone and I'd like to use a Caleffi Hydro Seperator instead of the P/S loop. Total baseboards through the house is 157 ft almost evenly divided between both zones (Upstairs + Downstairs). Roughly 80 ft downstairs and the rest upstairs. Indirect is a 40 GA tank, but I'd like to move up to a 50Ga tank during replacement and get that all squared away as well.

Had a company come in and quote a 155 BTU which seems awfully high - I need to perform a manual calc, they didn't even bother to do one. House was built in 1998 and most of it has the ZIP system with 2x6 insulation.