Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Chemicals to treat surging in steam boiler

Rem77
Rem77 Member Posts: 25
Hi,
I would like to ask the pros what chemical they have used with good results to treat priming and surging? I have been using a natural product called "Steam Clean", for about 8 years.
I have attached the picture . I manage a building with 20 apartments and several other properties. This one color codes the water to let you know when to add more. It seems to work well but I would like to experiment with other products.

Thanks
Bob

Comments

• KC_Jones
    KC_Jones Member Posts: 5,737
    Most of the people on here do proper skimming of the boiler to remove the oils, so typically no chemicals required.

Others have mentioned using washing soda and skimming.

It is pretty well agreed on here that there isn't a substitute for skimming, which I believe that product you are showing claims.

I'm curious how they claim it removes oil and grease, the only way to actually remove it is to get it out of the boiler.
    2014 Weil Mclain EG-40
    EcoSteam ES-20 Advanced Boiler Control
    Boiler pictures updated 2/21/15
    ethicalpaul
  • ChrisJ
    ChrisJ Member Posts: 15,667
    KC_Jones said:

Most of the people on here do proper skimming of the boiler to remove the oils, so typically no chemicals required.

Others have mentioned using washing soda and skimming.

It is pretty well agreed on here that there isn't a substitute for skimming, which I believe that product you are showing claims.

I'm curious how they claim it removes oil and grease, the only way to actually remove it is to get it out of the boiler.

Causes it to sink to the bottom some how?
    I don't know, but I think Steamaster does something similar with minerals etc.