Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Single pipe main vent questions

I'm new to this. I have Greening Steam and the Heating Help forum for learning.

I have single pipe steam heat in a standard Cape (2 story, plus basement). It was built in 1953 and has enclosed metal housings with finned radiators about a foot from the floor. I'm hoping to speed up the venting to save energy.

1.) So, I want to change my main vent. What's there is a Dole #4 at the elbow above the Hartford loop. Everything I've read says this is not a good place for a main vent. Since the Dole has no float, is this still a problem? Also read that a Dole #4 is too slow venting to be efficient.
I want to replace it with a Gorton #2 which has a float. I guess I have to move it away from the corner to prevent the water hammer damage.

2.) Even though this is a single pipe system, the last radiator in the run had a return pipe back to the main. A long time ago, the return pipe was disconnected and capped. The point is, I'm left with a capped T-joint with an 8" nipple about 6 feet from the boiler at the return end. Can I use that T-joint for the Gorton #2?

3.) There's no practical way for me to vent the 3 risers to the second floor. In the past the solution was to put Gorton D's on all the second floor radiators. I hope this is a good solution and I can keep that arrangement.

Is this correct so far? Thanks to all the experts here for help with my steam heat.

Comments

• KC_Jones
    KC_Jones Member Posts: 5,722
    Pictures of the vent location will help a lot, descriptions can sometimes be confusing without the context of all the piping.

Adding a much larger main vent is a great idea, and you may find those D vents on the second floor will be entirely too much once you do it.