Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

steam boiler system questions for beginner

I am completely new to steam boiler heating & live in Southern Virginia in a home built in 1910. I believe the boiler is from the 1940s - 1950s.

I have already had 1 company come to my house to service the system, but they really didn’t do anything to service it. I have lots of questions, and some of them I have found answers to through other posts on this site, but I would appreciate any help in becoming more versed in my system before calling another company to come back out to help me.

My first question is about all of these 3 blue water valves. I know at least 1 of them is supposed to be to allow water into the boiler, but I am unclear on the other 2 valves’ purpose. The one that is labeled water for furnace is fairly clear as to what it is for, but the bottom blue one looks like it has a pressure release that the other 2 don’t have. Finally, the top valve doesn’t seem to be letting water into the system as much as letting water out. Once we clear up these questions, I will come back with some additional questions about the rest of the system as a whole.

Comments

• JUGHNE
    JUGHNE Member Posts: 11,042
    Can you back up for a picture that shows all the piping on that side of the boiler. It would be easier to trace out. Floor to ceiling please.
  • nmwitkowski
    nmwitkowski Member Posts: 3
    edited October 2019
    Here is the photo from floor to ceiling. Let me know if you need a different angle.
  • JUGHNE
    The vertical pipe down from the ceiling is the cold water supply,
    the blue handle valve on the vertical pipe looks to the be the manual water fill valve for the "furnace" (boiler actually).