Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Need some help planning radiant system.

radintboy
radintboy Member Posts: 5
Hey folks, first time radiant heater here.

The radiant system will go in an insulated slab, there will be a greenhouse built on the slab. The greenhouse will be air tight with double layer inflated poly.

The heat loss calc says I need 180,000 btu for 1400sf 70x20 slab. Roughly 150btu/ft

I had planned to use 1” pex spaced 6-12” OC.

I am a complete beginner at this, I would really appreciate any insight or guidance on slab thickness, insulation options, anything you recommend (including hiring a professional) thanks for reading!

Comments

• Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,162
    If you are trying to get that much heat our of a slab you definitely need a really good professional to design and lay out the radiant system -- piping, pumps, controls, the works.
    Br. Jamie, osb
    Building superintendent/caretaker, 7200 sq. ft. historic house museum with dependencies in New England
  • John Ruhnke
    John Ruhnke Member Posts: 882
    You can start by going to the "Find a Contractor" section to find somebody that knows what they are doing. There are some real experts listed there. Just ask the contractor what kind of experience he has.
    I am the walking Deadman
    Hydronics Designer
    Hydronics is the most comfortable and energy efficient HVAC system.
    radintboy
  • radintboy
    > @John Ruhnke said:
    > You can start by going to the "Find a Contractor" section to find somebody that knows what they are doing. There are some real experts listed there. Just ask the contractor what kind of experience he has.

Would you be interested? Is this something you have expierience with?
  • ScottSecor
    ScottSecor Member Posts: 851