Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Choosing a correct natural gas water boiler

Options
I am replacing the my current 150K BTU Utica boiler installed in 1999. I have a finished basement, 2 main floors and an attic to heat. 2200 sqft. Heat loss calc on the Slate Fin App was 94k BTU. I like the home at 75 degrees and estimated for the coldest day of the year at 1 degree. I currently have 62 feet of baseboard (actual filament length), 28 ' of 9" high cast iron baseboard, and 2' of 18" high radiator ( 10 section/5 column). How many BTU Boiler do I replace it with? I have no background in heating and probably won't understand half the stuff you right and will not be familiar on how to provide more info to pu the puzzle together, but, if you take the time to respond, I appreciate the feedback and will try to read up on what I don't understand. I live in Staten Island, NY.

Comments

• Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,286
    Options
    Well you've done the first step! Bravo! That is calculating the structure heat loss. And that gives you the boiler size you need, since you are dealing with hot water heat. So something in the 94K to 100K range would be ample.

The amount of radiation you have will control what temperature the circulating water has to be at to provide best results.

The next steps get a bit messy, as there are a wide variety of boilers available. Some are what are called mod/con boilers; these adjust their output water temperature to suit what is needed by the heating system and are, or can be if they are set up correctly, more efficient. Some don't do that, so are slightly less efficient -- but are cheaper to install and maintain.