Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Hydronic floor heating Thermostat

Options
zetoniox
zetoniox Member Posts: 3
Hello all,

Newbie here, with a question that I've been having a hard time with.

Installing hydronic floor heating with 5 zones. Wanting a smart thermostat that is Alexa enabled. Was thinking of using Nest's true radiant but the only thing i find on the web is bad reviews from 5-7 years ago. Haven't really found anything recent. Is Nest's true radiant still bad? or have they upgraded it and works fine now?

Also saw the Tekmar 561 which is WiFi enabled and has an app, but not Alexa enabled. If I use the Tekmar, would i need to use the floor sensor? Will I still be able to use the Tekmar app to control the system even if i'm not home?

What would you guys recommend? Is there any other thermostat that I missed or should look into?

Thanks so much in advance!!

Jose

Comments

• STEVEusaPA
    STEVEusaPA Member Posts: 6,506
    Options
    4 zones out of 6 in my home are radiant. After initial set up, I've never changed their settings in the last 10 years. Actually haven't changed the other 2 zones either.
    Unless this is for a vacation home or something with long unoccupied times, a wifi stat a horrible idea in this application.

Floor sensors have their own potential problems, depending on the application and if properly installed. If you are only relying on the floor sensor you will get under/overshoot on your temperatures.
    steve
    zetoniox
  • JUGHNE
    JUGHNE Member Posts: 11,061
    Options
    I agree with Jamie and have almost the same heating set up as Steve.
    I tried set back in the master bath and learned that was stupid.
    All zones now have simple Honeywell Focuspro TH5000 set at 3 cycles per hour. Set and forget.