Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Underperforming radiant system

Options
ererer
ererer Member Posts: 11
Hi - I'm a carpenter doing a conversion/remodel of a 2 car garage into a 2 bedroom apartment w/ 1 car garage bay. I have a friend that's a plumber assisting with radiant design and boiler install.

The first floor is a raised 2x6 subfloor with 4" of rigid foam insulation (R-26 total) below it, foil faced, and the tubing laid on top of the insulation, with a 3/4" subfloor on top. The final plan is hardwood flooring everywhere except the bathroom, which will be tiled. This is how our plumber recommended installing it, though I believe that this may be the problem after doing further research (I found this presentation by John Siegenthaler, which I wish I had found months ago http://www.homeperformance.org/file/1449/download?token=Q83qlYtX).

The boiler is a NTI Trinity FTV 150MBH Combi unit.

I imagine that all the tubing is potentially doing is heating the airspace below the subfloor, and is not effectively radiating heat up without any sort of reflective plate, especially since it's likely that the tubing isn't even in contact with the subfloor.

Here's the sketchup design of tubing layout

Here are pics before we finished installing the subfloor

Comments

• ererer
    Options
    Here are some pictures of the mechanical room, as well as from underneath the second floor. We haven't tried running the second floor yet, but my guess is that since the tubing also isn't in good contact with the subfloor and doesn't have reflective panels installed, it won't perform well either. My guess is that we should install reflective panels - though unfortunately we have put up some ceiling drywall already, as well as insulation in the garage ceiling portion.

s/editor/7f/ordj5o1n23wg.jpg" alt="" />

• Zman