Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Heating options.

woopud
woopud Member Posts: 10
My wife and I bought this huge 220 year old brick house we both fell in love with when we saw it. We've been living in it for the past three years now and absolutely love it, our biggest issue is heating the place. The prvious owner had cut out all the hot water baseboard radiators flush with the floors making the piping unusable, they also installed a propane boiler and radiators to heat only two rooms (kitchen and 1 bedroom). This unit is not big enough for the whole house and would be extremely expensive to heat the whole house with propane. Wondering if anyone has some recommendations what we can do, I'm a contractor and can do everything myself. Natural gas is not available where we live so that's out of the question. We most likely wouldn't need to heat the whole house all the time but rather only certain rooms.

Comments

• EBEBRATT-Ed
    EBEBRATT-Ed Member Posts: 15,452
    To me it depends on the occupancy of the house.
    I hate to recommend hot air to anyone ...it sucks but it won't freeze. Is this a house that will be vacant....part time use???

If your are going to live in it I would

Button up the envelope as much as possible windows , insulation
    Do an accurate heat loss
    Then it's propane or oil. Water source heat pumps may be an option but are $$$$ with your existing boiler as a back up.

Where are you located?
  • JUGHNE
    JUGHNE Member Posts: 11,042
    What size if the boiler now, pictures of the nameplate would do it.
    The existing boiler may heat more than you imagine.
    GroundUp
  • HVACNUT
    HVACNUT Member Posts: 5,803