Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Fins for Pex pipes?

it1991
it1991 Member Posts: 7
Hi,

I am new to this so I apologize for any incorrect terminology :)

Background: I recently bought a home about two months ago. Just moved in and noticed the heat wasn't quite reaching the expected temp. Never can really get above 69 in the downstairs, which is okay with me but a bit cold for the baby. I did some research and tweaked the outdoor reset which helped a little but overnight when it got cold, it looked the like boiler kept cycling. I had a professional come out this morning and he changed the parameters on the boiler so that it does not drop below 150 even when cycling.

Problem: This helped significantly in the living room but still have problems in some other rooms. Upon further inspection from the heating company, they noticed that some of the pipes in the baseboard are Pex not copper. In addition there are no fins on them. For example, the office has about 16ft of baseboard. 6ft have fins, 10 do not. Why? I don't know.

Question: Can I buy fins and put them on Pex piping? I saw that there are fins for copper but could not find any for pex. Are they the same, or are they special for Pex?

Details: Boiler GB142. Outdoor reset AM10. House is on Slab with hot water basedboard. There is hotwater running through the pex even in the colder rooms. However it is not as hot as the areas that have fins.

Please let me know if you need any additional details. Thank you so much for any help.

Comments

• Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,170
    I doubt very much that you'll find fins for PEX. The proper solution to the problem is to replace some of that PEX with proper finned copper baseboard. Figure out how much heat you need in that space, and then add baseboard until you have enough.
    Br. Jamie, osb