Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

New House, New Steam Enthusiast

MaTTyBiGs
MaTTyBiGs Member Posts: 26
edited March 2022 in Strictly Steam
Hi All,

My wife and I just bought our first house and it has steam heat, it was built in 1900 but had a small addition put on sometime after. My house growing up (built two years before the declaration of independence) also had steam heat, so I was very loosely familiar with the idea. The system is not heating evenly and making all sorts of noises, so I wanted to learn why. The system fascinates me (I'm a chemical engineer, but no steam heating experience) so I tried looking for a book or two, found Dan's books - and here I am.

After reading through "We Got Steam Heat!" I feel like I have some good places to start, and it's certainly in the basement. I am having a professional come in to clean the boiler and a plumber to look over the piping compared to the manufacturer's recommendation (Crown Bermuda 138) - so I will pass over that for now and re-visit later.

The pipes are horribly insulated, someone did a small wrapping job on some mains but looks like they gave up and nothing else is insulated. I am going to get some 1" fiberglass insulation to insulate everything (2" mains, radiator pipes vary from 1.25" to 0.75") - I looked at 1.5" for the mains but the price almost doubles and I know the insulating properties will rapidly decline with thickness (as in the second inch will not stop nearly as much heat flow as the first inch).