Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Boiler relay board making noises

klin816
klin816 Member Posts: 2
Hello,

I have a gas 2 zone boiler and when A zone's thermostat turned on, everything runs smoothly but when B zone's thermostat turned on, sometimes, caused the small relay boxes on the relay board to make a fast clicking sound, which turns the boiler on and off. What's the problem? Do I have a bad relay board? Wrong wiring between the thermostat and the relay board? How can I solve this issue? Are there other causes to the issue? Thanks!

Kevin

Comments

• Docfletcher
    Docfletcher Member Posts: 487
    edited January 2019
    First thing I'd do is swap the relays to see if the problem moves to Zone A. If it does the relay is the problem. I would replace both relays as a matter of course. I am not a pro.
    rick in Alaskakcopp
  • Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,160
    Also check all the connections and wiring -- and thermostat. If you are losing signal voltage anywhere along the line that can cause the problem.
    Br. Jamie, osb
    Building superintendent/caretaker, 7200 sq. ft. historic house museum with dependencies in New England
  • hot_rod
    hot_rod Member Posts: 22,018
    what's the brass looking dohickey at the bottom?
    Bob "hot rod" Rohr
    trainer for Caleffi NA
    Living the hydronic dream
  • rick in Alaska
    rick in Alaska Member Posts: 1,457
    Current relay??
    Rick
  • klin816
    klin816 Member Posts: 2
    @Docfletcher I can try swapping the relays but I did change a new relay for Zone B but it didn't do anything.

@Jamie Hall Do I call an electrician or a heating repair guy to check the wiring? I don't have any knowledge about a boiler.

@hot rod_7 I have no idea tbh. This is the setup when I bought the house.

@rick in Alaska What do you mean by "Current relay"?