Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Electric Radiant Heat in Walls?

NewbieKelvin
NewbieKelvin Member Posts: 2
edited January 2019 in Radiant Heating
Newbie here, looking for help!

Doing a reno that expands main room (living, kitchen, dining) to about 27' x 27'. There is a forced air heating system, but for various reasons the only output registers (2) are on one side of the room. The other side is the new wall, and I'm considering supplemental heating options for cold nights.

Radiant floor heating is out. (Can't do hydronic on our existing concrete slab easily. Electric radiant systems void the warranty on the flooring options we have with kids [can't do hardwood or tile].)

Looking into putting electric radiant heating *inside* the far wall (the new one). Does anyone have experience with this and can anyone recommend a brand/system that a contractor can easily install for us? Ours doesn't know this stuff that well.

I've looked at hydronic wall systems (Warmboard), but since we have solar panels, it seems like it would make more sense to do electric (and avoid the risk of leaks) rather than hydronic. I can't find a reputable electric system.

If electric is a terrible idea, please advise on the best dummy-proof hydronic systems for in-wall. The space to be covered isn't a huge square footage so I don't need to over-build...maybe two areas: 5'H x 14' and 5'H x 9'?

Your help would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,168
    Electric isn't a terrible idea, and it's been around a long time. I wouldn't have any idea, though, as to brands.