Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Magnetite causing a hot water boiler to crack

Nimrod66
Nimrod66 Member Posts: 17
Hello Forum,
Has anybody out there had any direct experience with a hot water boiler cracking from large quantities of magnetite? If so, do you have any reports that speak to the failure? Maybe going in a different direction, who out there knows an engineer who can take a forensic look at a cracked boiler that is full of magnetite? Thanks for your help.

Comments

• kcopp
    kcopp Member Posts: 4,418
    What type of boiler? Cast iron? Stainless steel?
    Got pix?
    Water quality has certainly killed a boiler or two before....
  • Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,161
    Allow me to make a couple of observations here. The first being that I have been an expert witness in the past, I am not in the slightest interested in being one again.

OK. That's off my chest. Now. Sludge -- including magnetite -- can indeed kill a boiler by impeding circulation, causing localized hot spots and thus cracking. That's pretty well known. However, first, there are no special properties of magnetite which specifically do that. It's a component of sludge (I might note in passing that this is not true of certain pumps; there the magnetic qualities may play into the problems). So. We are talking about a sludge problem.

A sludge problem can only come from improper materials (non-barrier PEX, for instance) or from improper maintenance (not attending to the pH, not adding and maintaining proper corrosion protection, etc. etc, not maintaining filters... the list is long).