Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Gas Valve on/off Switch Broken

jc2464
jc2464 Member Posts: 6
edited November 2018 in Gas Heating
Hello!

My 1 year old forced air furnace won't ignite due to a faulty gas valve. The valve gets 24V and works only if I press down on the on/off switch's 'ON' toggle. Only then does it make a loud click after a call for heat and open the gas. Otherwise, there's no click and no gas. This makes me think it's the valve's on/off switch that's broken, rather than some solenoid or relay inside it. Is there any way to fix the on/off switch, or hard-wire it to on, or do I need to replace the entire valve?

The valve is a White-Rodgers 36G22-254. (Only has on/off, for a no-pilot system)

p.s. This is my first time ever touching a furnace. If anything I'm describing or suggesting sounds ridiculous, please don't hesitate to call it out!

Comments

• Tim McElwain
    Tim McElwain Member Posts: 4,612

The 36G22 combination gas valve is designed for direct spark ignition (DSI) and hot surface ignition (HSI) system applications. This valve is equipped with redundant and main solenoid valves that control gas flow to the main burners, a pressure regulator and a two-position on/off switch for regulation and electrical shut-off of the solenoid valves. The 36G22 is also equipped with a slow opening pressure regulator for softer lighting characteristics. Put the valve in the on position, make sure the system has power, you should have a Electronic Control in the blower compartment. What Make and number is it?

What makes you think the valve is bad? Do you have 24 volts to the valve?
    jc2464
  • jc2464
    edited November 2018
    EDIT: it's a Bryant 1 stage condensing furnace,
    Model Number : 915SA30040S14A-B

--