Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Help with system design, please

Options
tbrooks
tbrooks Member Posts: 100
Hi guys. As some of you may know I am trying for a diy radiant install. I have siggy's book and have been pouring over it, but it is so much information. I feel what could take me weeks to figure out, you guys would have a solution for in minutes. Let me say that I don't have a lot of money, but comfort is the goal and I will figure out how to pay for it one way or another, anywhere I can cut costs would be good. I am a very skilled diy guy, I am a handyman by trade, and I am taught by Google and do everything to specs/codes or better. I have a lot of plumbing experience and know that I can do the install, but no heating, radiant, or steam experience. I ended up paying for a design, which turned out to be basically just heat loss and tubing layout, and I was slightly disappointed. They did offer to help with any questions I may have, but I feel I would benefit from a wider knowledge base, and they mainly deal with slab, new construction.

So here is the design they gave me

Of course there are alot more pages, but I think that is the important parts. I should mention the document say that it is a lightweight over pour, when infact it is above floor retrofit, tubing with plywood sleepers and aluminum heat plates. Except the garage slab. I'm not sure if they may have otherwise compensated for this in the design. I can talk with them more if you guys feel this is an issue. Now that I have decided on a boiler it will be in the garage, and I will move manifold 1 in there as well.