Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Changes needed to use 3/4" pex

uppersouth
uppersouth Member Posts: 11
We are building a small home in central MN, 1000' sq ft plus a loft, we had a system designed using 2/2" pex-al-pex. But have been given 3 500' rolls of 3/4" pexflow. Can anyone give info as to what we need to change. We are pretty handy, my husband is in construction and I'm a retired mechanical drafter. We are on a very limited budget as I'm living with cancer.. any info. Would be appreciated.

Comments

• GroundUp
    GroundUp Member Posts: 1,889
    2/2" PAP? You mean 1/2" or 1"? 1500ft of 3/4" for a 1000 sq ft slab is way overkill, or will the loft have underfloor radiant as well? I'm also in Central MN and would be willing to chat or take a look at the project if you'd like, I've been doing hydronic heating for 11 years
  • uppersouth
    Meant 1/2" yeah, I figure some of that will go for a future garage. I was given the 3/4
  • GroundUp
    So.... what are you asking?
  • uppersouth
    I had a system designed but it's for 1/2" pex all pex.. I will be using the 3/4" so I'm trying to figure out what else needs to change in the panel as well as the layout because of the different pex
  • GroundUp
    You were given 1500ft of 3/4" so you don't need to buy any 1/2" PEX is what you're saying? Pexflow is made in both barrier and non-barrier. If it's non-barrier, don't use it. 3/4" can run longer loops at a wider spacing than 1/2" can, so if your 3/4" is oxygen barrier, I would personally run 2 loops at 400 ft long and 15" OC with what you have which is still overkill but will work well with low water temps. You'll need different manifolds (or make them from copper or steel) to accommodate the larger tubing, but otherwise everything remains the same.
  • uppersouth
    Yes, it's pexflow 02 barrler tubing