Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Gurgling sound in down stairs bathroom sink

akishjr
akishjr Member Posts: 1
Hello,
I am hearing a gurgling sound in my bathroom sink down stairs when someone uses the shower/runs a bath. also every once in a while it will overflow the sink and water overflows. It doesn't seem to effect how fast the water goes down in the bathtub. Could this be a clogged drain or is this more likely a structural issue? I am a novice but if this is something I could fix myself I wold prefer that since I dont have a ton of disposable money laying around lol. I would appreciate any advice and any way to troubleshoot this issue.

Comments

• Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,168
    I'm mildly confused by your comment that every once in a while "it" will overflow the sink and water overflows. Not just sure to what "it" refers here, nor am I quite sure to what you are referring with "water overflows".

Can you be a little more specific?

At first thought, it sounds like a partially clogged drain, which is something you can probably attack with some of the more heavy duty drain cleaners (don't be timid -- the only ones which work are pretty fierce). However, it could be a more difficult problem...

But I need to know more.
    Br. Jamie, osb
    Building superintendent/caretaker, 7200 sq. ft. historic house museum with dependencies in New England
  • invermont
    invermont Member Posts: 73
    I’m not a pro and I’m sure you will get some expert advise. Years ago I had a situation that was somewhat similar. My vent was jammed with snow and ice up on my roof. Never had overflow, but had some gurgling.
  • Zman
    Zman Member Posts: 7,561
    Definitely sounds like a vent issue. Could be plugged at the roof, a flat vent takeoff that is plugged with debris, or just plumbed wrong from the get go.