Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Installing new indirect water heater: stainless vs. hydrastone?

Hi folks! I am a complete layman, not super handy, yet still own a home in Fairfield County, Connecticut ... and we’d like to install a new indirect water heater in the house. There’s just a very old oil burner and for the obvious reasons, we want a separate water heater.

So we’ve started to solicit estimates. The first two we’ve received are very different and we’d love some informed opinions on why we’d go with one vs. the other. The two recommended so far are:

35 gallon Alliance SL Hydrastone-lined heater
45 gallon SuperStor

The person who recommended the Alliance said it provides more hot water without interruption than a much bigger “regular” tank.

They are fairly close in terms of pricing.

I’m not going to spend months fretting over this, just thought there might be an obvious advantage to one approach. We just want adequate hot water for a four-person household with two bathrooms.

Thanks for your help!

Comments

• Rich_49
    Rich_49 Member Posts: 2,766
    SuperStor is better and if it should fail there will be no excuses
    You didn't get what you didn't pay for and it will never be what you thought it would .
    Langans Plumbing & Heating LLC
    732-751-1560
    Serving most of New Jersey, Eastern Pa .
    Consultation, Design & Installation anywhere
    Rich McGrath 732-581-3833
  • bob eck
    bob eck Member Posts: 930
    Why is Superstore better?